Black Cat

This black cat is my latest coloured pencil piece. I’d seen a lot of coloured pencil artists use black paper and their work looked really good on it, so i thought i’d give it a go. I bought a black Winsor and Newton sketch book and decided black paper would be perfect for a black cat. I was really pleased with the way the colour went on the paper, and could instantly see that this paper is much better quality than the white paper i have (so i might have to go and get a new white sketch pad too!) I’m really pleased with the cat, especially the nose and the eye.

On a side note, i recently bought a book called Realistic Pet Portraits In Coloured Pencil, by Anne DeMillie Flood. This book is really useful, it concentrates entirely on coloured pencil, and has many step by step instructions for drawing cats, dogs, horses and birds, as well as pages on smaller animals like rabbits. I was really pleased to see she uses Prismacolor pencils, which are the same brand i use, so it was even more helpful as she gives details of the exact colours she uses. It also has sections on how to draw specific features such as eyes and noses, as well as instructions on how to draw different types of fur. I’d really reccommend this book to anyone interested in animals and coloured pencil.

7 Comments

  1. russelldcook said,

    January 18, 2008 at 9:58 am

    You should post a picture of Soo to go with this.

  2. Wendy said,

    January 24, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    A case of less is more I think here!!
    I love it!

  3. Andrea Frey said,

    April 6, 2009 at 1:03 am

    I do love this I came upon it looking for cross stitch patterns of black cats. As my email says I have all black cat rescues 10 luv them all wish I had this in my house

    good job

  4. Andrea Frey said,

    April 6, 2009 at 1:07 am

    I do love this I came upon it looking for cross stitch patterns of black cats. As my email says I have all black cat rescues 10 luv them all wish I had this in my house

    good job

  5. August 4, 2009 at 6:04 am

    nice works.

  6. andrea said,

    January 18, 2010 at 5:08 am

    its beautiful, my own black cat just died and this looks just like her thank you for sharing your work

  7. July 9, 2010 at 6:58 am

    Aww! What a pretty cat!


Leave a Reply

