The Awakening Started

I started The Awakening on Saturday, but due to a trip to Thorpe Park (theme park) on Sunday, which was great fun, and starting my teacher training this week, i haven’t really had much time to work on it.  But i thought i would show you my progress, and tell you a bit about how i’m getting on.

For those who don’t remember, the design i’m doing is a Heaven And Earth Design (HAED) using artwork by Jonathan Earl Bowser.  The finished piece will look something like this:

I chose this design because it has a large number of different colours and sections in it, so hopefully i won’t get too bored.  I’m doing it on 28 count brittney evenweave, which is the same as lugana only 28 count rather than 25.  I originally bought the 25 count lugana, and although i loved the feel of the fabric, the coverage wasn’t quite good enough for my liking.  I also tried using both one and two strands of thread, but found the two strands much too bulky.

I’m really enjoying it so far, the needle slides through the fabric really well, and the colours are beautiful, but most of all the tiny stitches look so delicate and i can really see how amazing the piece is going to be when the picture starts appearing.  The frame i got to use with it is working really well.  It’s a 9 inch plastic snap frame, and it holds the fabric really nice and tight, which makes it a lot easier to stitch, but it’s also small enough to hold, which is good for me as i’m used to just holding the fabric in my hand.

So, here is my progress so far.  It doesn’t look much, and you can’t see what it is yet, but it is about 400 stitches, about an inch high and an inch wide.

It’s been really nice to come home in the afternoon and have this to work on, and it hasn’t even been too small to work on in the evening, with my daylight lamp.  Hopefully i won’t get too many cat hairs in this one, although they seem to get everywhere.  For those of you who don’t know about my cat, he’s black, called Sooty (although we call him Soo), and loves mashed potato.  He has also just been given a cat flap, and is still working out how to use it!

6 Comments

  1. September 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Sounds good. picture is very nice and natural. i am stunning.keep it up.

  2. Carolyn said,

    September 13, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I’m assuming it’s a tree branch in the top left hand corner… And holy crap, you have far more patience then me, stitching one-over-one like that…

  3. Chiloe said,

    September 14, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    First I want to congratulate you for the enchantress (I have her in my stash 😉 ) and I will follow your progress on your new start !!!

  4. beccagregory said,

    September 14, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Thank you everyone, yes Carolyn it is a tree branch, i’ll post another update soon so you’ll be able to see more clearly what it is.

  5. Nicole said,

    September 17, 2008 at 1:57 am

    Sounds like it is coming along very well, and the stitching looks lovely so far. I can’t wait to see more updates!

  6. Chrizette said,

    December 4, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    This is a beautiful design!


Leave a Reply

