The Awakening Update Two

I’m sorry it’s been such a long time since my last update.  I started my teacher training and i’ve been very busy, but luckily so far i’ve still found a little time to get some stitching done in the evenings.  I’m doing a PGCE course to become a secondary maths teacher, and i’m a little worried about just how much work i’ll have to do, but we’ll see how it goes, and hopefully The Awakening won’t get ignored too much.

I’ve done more of the tree branches that are in the top left corner of the design.  You can’t really tell what they are unless i tell you, but it’s really nice seeing it grow.

I’m still really enjoying the tiny stitches, they just look so neat and cute, and it’s great not to have the “squared” look that you normally get with cross stitch designs.  Here is a picture of my whole piece of fabric.  When i measured it out i used the dimensions for 25 count, and as this is 28 count the finished piece should be smaller, so in theory it should be further from the edge on the right hand side than it is on the left.

Thank you very much to everyone who has commented on my work so far, it does really help to keep me motivated knowing that people are watching.  I know that personally, i love watching other peoples’ cross stitch progress.

And for anyone who is interested, here is a close up picture.

6 Comments

  1. Carolyn said,

    September 24, 2008 at 3:01 am

    Like I said… This is gonna take forEVER…

    It will look so pretty when it’s done though… 🙂

  2. Tracy said,

    September 24, 2008 at 8:03 pm

    Hi ^_^ it’s me again!

    Congrats on finishing Woodland Enchantress and moving on to even more amazing work. I’m still plugging away at it, but my progress has been slowed down substantially now that the summer is over. (I’m a graduate student, teaching assistant, and job hunting for after -hopefully- graduating this December … a very busy semester!) You can see today’s upload of my progress in my slideshow (http://s39.photobucket.com/albums/e167/kpcs/Woodland%20Enchantress/?albumview=grid) I’ve been working on the tricky-to-count earth and grass area in the bottom left. I can’t believe I’ve done all this work and have only used greens, grays, and browns!

    Hopefully you don’t mind me still watching your journal about your projects. It’s inspiring. 🙂 I’m debating making my own craft journal…hm…

  3. beccagregory said,

    September 25, 2008 at 5:52 am

    Of course i don’t mind you watching, that’s the point of this blog! Yours is coming on well, i tried to fill in all the colours close together on mine so i didn’t have to count so much. I found the background the worst bit, it got rather boring after a while, but keep going and you’ll get there. I definitely think you should make a craft journal.

  4. Samira said,

    September 25, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    I just have to say wow! I loved what you did in The Woodland Enchantress, and this one you started now looks so intimidating! How do you see those tiny stitches???? It’s great to see the progress on your work. Keep up!

  5. Laura said,

    September 26, 2008 at 12:11 pm

    Wow….. Great progress. Its amazing how detailed HAED’s are. I have just ordered my first and i cant wait to start.
    (p.s Im the one who was talking to you on cross stitch forum about HAED. lol)

  6. Tracy said,

    September 27, 2008 at 12:58 am

    http://kpcs.wordpress.com/

    😀


Leave a Reply

