Lines Caused By Blocks Of Stitching

I noticed that when i stitched some of my HAED in 10 by 10 blocks, it caused faint lines to appear between the edge of the block and the rest of the stitching.  Hopefully you can see what i mean in this picture, in the red circled bit you should be able to see faint vertical lines.

 

I have heard several other people complain of the same problem, especially those who stitch their whole piece in 10 by 10 blocks, or between pages.  Rather than being caused by uneven tension, it appears to be simply because of the way the stitches are formed on the back of the fabric.  Stitching in blocks causes an empty line to form on the back of your work, a line where there are no threads crossing from one side of the square to the other.  This means that the stitches on the left of this line are being pulled to the left, and the stitches on the right are being pulled to the right, leaving a slight gap in the middle.

I have heard that the lines are erased with washing and ironing the project at the end, but personally i think i will just try to avoid them in the first place by not stitching in blocks.

6 Comments

  1. Samira said,

    March 5, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Yes, you can totally see them in the picture, but I think it might not show in the final project, hopefully! I recently finished the first page in my HAED and I worked in blocks most of the time, although since I’m using dark colors the lines don’t show that much. I will however keep that in mind.

  2. Kell said,

    April 10, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    I’ve never done a big enough project to warrant doing this, but I’ve noticed that some people leave the threads hanging when they’ve finished with that colour in the block so that they can continue on in the next block if that colour is required. I think that might diminish the problem as there wouldn’t be the “blank line” on the back of the fabric.

    By the way, your work is gorgeous!

  3. Jot said,

    April 12, 2009 at 12:18 pm

    You can remove the lines by weaving thread on the back under the stitches across the gap.

    Washing and ironing doesn’t always work.

    Your stitching is lovely!

  4. Franacropan said,

    April 21, 2010 at 1:56 am

    Thanks for the explanation about the gap, it makes a lot of sense, it was like a lightbulb went off in my head.

  5. July 14, 2010 at 10:50 pm

    I can see them all right.

  6. Tracy said,

    January 13, 2012 at 5:20 am

    I’m having the same problem with my HAED. At the moment I’m on page 3 so haven’t really done that much but because it’s mostly white at the moment the lines do show up 😦

    I really like the what Jot said about weaving thread on the back under thstitches accross the gap and will give this a go when I have finished the HAED.


Leave a Reply

